City Council & Mayor


The City of Excelsior operates under the council-manager plan. Under this form of government, all legislative power is vested in the elected, part-time City Council. This Council consists of a mayor and four councilmembers who are elected at large. The mayor is elected for a two-year term and the councilmembers are elected for four-year staggered terms.

The Council adopts policies and ordinances and appoints a professional, full-time city manager to carry them out. The city manager is solely responsible for the administration of city business and may delegate authority to promote efficient use of staff time.


  • 6:30 pm
  • First and third Mondays of each month
  • Excelsior City Council Chambers are located at: 
    Trinity Episcopal Church, 322 Second Street, Excelsior, MN  55331

Agendas, Minutes & Packets

Agendas are available prior to meetings. 
View All Agendas

Minutes are available following approval. 
View All Minutes

Packets are available prior to meetings. 
View All Packets


MembersPhone NumbersEmail Addresses
Todd Carlson, Mayor(707) 738-9903 (Mobile)

Email Todd Carlson
Jennifer Caron, Councilmember(612) 812-3695 (Mobile)
(952) 474-7824 (Home)
Email Jennifer Caron
Lou Dierking, Councilmember(651) 283-7703 (Mobile)

Email Lou Dierking
Ann Hersman, Councilmember(952) 470-9519 (Home)

Email Ann Hersman
Rob Tyler, Councilmember(952) 412-8047 (Mobile)

Email Rob Tyler